Omelette du fromage

In between summits 1 and 2, I ran into this nice couple. He spoke a little English and she did not. I offered to take their picture with their camera. They offered me the same courtesy. With all the the exertion, my usual French (“I don’t speak French”, “Do you speak English”, etc) totally failed me. I asked them to say “cheese”. Afterwards the woman asked her husband in (friendly) amazement if I knew any French. It’s customary here to count 1-2-3 to take a picture. She thought that I couldn’t count to 3 in French. Not many people speak English in this area, so it was a real concern. I replied with “I don’t speak French” and “Omelette du Fromage”. She found this absolutely hysterically funny. Apparently “Omelette du Fromage” is hilarious here because of a viral video of the cartoon “Dexter’s Laboratory” on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jccONkeGkZw . Oh, “Omelette du fromage” means cheese omelette.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment